Piotr Jakubowski – Mind over Marketing


The 4P’s Applied
October 26, 2008, 10:55 pm
Filed under: advantage, advice, attitude, Business, learning

A while back I wrote about the 4P’s, an idea passed down to me by one of my mentors – John Bowman at Saatchi & Saatchi. 
 

A few weeks ago I had the wonderful, albeit stressful, opportunity to test this theory. Unfortunately, I had run into a few visa problems when trying to re-enter the country on my student training extension. Within a week I was:

  • Denied entry to the US on both my visas – extensive time at the border
  • Stranded in Canada with just the clothes on my back, my car, my laptop and my camera
  • Informed on the day I was supposed to start work in the US that I would have to wait 6-10 weeks for an appointment in Canada
  • Flying back to Indonesia the next morning, arriving the following evening
  • Appointment and interview at the US embassy the next morning
  • Fly back a week later – complete with “random” screenings on ever leg
  • Flying through Chicago to get to Toronto – and getting stopped at the border again
  • Taking just a 6 hour break between 45 hrs of flight travel and an 8 hr drive
The entire process was mentally and physically straining, but it was important to remember that there was always an answer to all of the questions, and the end was always there. The goal was to make sure I wasn’t away long enough to lose my job. I returned – beaten and battered – to start work two weeks after I was supposed to.
Persistence is key, and I know that I learned through this personal experience that the 4P’s are true. 

Passion Plus Perseverance Prevails

  • Fuel your passion
  • Steel your resolve to persevere
  • Picture yoursellf prevailing over obstacles
  • Achieving goals
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Nice post Piotr. I’ve just discovered your blog from the one written by Kevin Roberts. I’m a french canadian from Montreal in Quebec, Canada and sometimes I’m risking myself to write some comments in english.

It’s always special when, suddently, we’re facing an event who encounter everythings we are fighting for.

I’m, like you, a man who’s sharing the idea that Passion and Perseverance are the keys of the success for everyone (not just the professionnals ones but in our life) but it’s always a challenge to stick to our initial speech. It doesn’t matter what we thinking. We’re just human after all… Emotion can kick away our mantra.

I’m happy to see that you succeed this test. All the hard work these moments need are being justified by the satisfaction we get at the end.

Comment by Jordan Chenard




Leave a Reply

