Piotr Jakubowski – Mind over Marketing


Be prepared
October 25, 2007, 5:41 pm
Filed under: adam steen, advice, attitude, business cards, maturity, preparation, responsibility

One thing that I would like to emphasize strongly is the concept of always being prepared. You never know who you can run into during the day, and it’s a good idea to be ready from a professional standpoint to deal with it.

This doesn’t mean you have to fold up a resume and keep it in your pocket at all times. However, it would be a good idea to carry around a set of business cards. In your wallet, in your car, in your bag. That way, if one place runs out unexpectedly (though you should always keep track), you will have a backup.

Why is this important you ask?

Today I had the opportunity to sit down with Adam Steen to chat about a few things at a coffee shop. In the middle of our conversation, he noticed that a friend of his had come into the coffee shop. He introduced me to Cheryl. Cheryl is a recruiter/headhunter, a person who can help you find a job after graduation. I had remembered to refill my business cards in my wallet the night before, so I handed her one. She didn’t have one, but because she had mine, she has a way to contact me. If I didn’t have my cards, this would be a lost opportunity.

Not only are business cards a great way to pass on contact information, as a college student it represents a level of maturity that stands out from others. It proves that you are responsible, driven, but most importantly mature and serious. It shows that you have a strong attitude about your future.

Do you have your business cards ready? How have they helped you before?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

It’s interesting that you raise this as I don’t have cards but over the past weeks realise I could well have used them. I’m stuck for a design actually and have been thinking of something sort of minimal/funky 🙂 Does your card simply supply contact info or did you add designs etc?

Comment by Susan




Leave a Reply

