Piotr Jakubowski – Mind over Marketing


I, Initiative
August 30, 2007, 12:25 am
Filed under: advantage, advice, Business, initiative, internships, kevin roberts, saatchi

You’ve heard the saying – There’s no I in team.

And that’s entirely true. There are, however, four i’s in Initiative.

Initiative comes from oneself. It comes from within. Everyday, people are given opportunities. In many situations people are given the same opportunities. However, the lack of initiative sees many of these opportunities float by and disappear. When these opportunities become available, you must be confident and take action. Who knows, something might come out of it. Andy’s recent post is the perfect example of this happening in the real world.

Initiative is rewarded. Managers tend to favor the employees who go that “extra mile”, who take initiative to do more than what is expected of them. And in many cases, these employees are rewarded for their hard work. From a manager’s perspective, wouldn’t you want somebody working for you to go that extra mile?

An example from my life:
From June until August I had the opportunity to work at Saatchi & Saatchi in New York City. The New York office of Saatchi also happens to be the worldwide headquarters. After reading Kevin Robert’s book, I became fascinated by his perspective and told myself that I would try my hardest to meet him at Saatchi (a seemingly impossible task as I was told). All of the interns had the same opportunities. They were in the same building, had the same schedule, same access. Essentially everything was the same. On quite a few occasions I took the initiative to take a break and wander around the office a little, visiting a few different floors. On one of these days, Kevin was in his office reading the paper. My efforts had been rewarded. On top of that, I had asked if I could have a few words with Kevin. Once again, I took the initiative and was rewarded. Although our chat was only a few minutes long, I had proven to myself that with strong initiative come large rewards.

“The right man is the one who seizes the moment.”
— Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

03-ps11-1initiative-posters.jpg

When was a time when you showed some initiative?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You definitely have your foot in the door. I’m proud of you. Keep it up.!!! Take your chances. Dada

Comment by Jerzy Mirecki

Hi, I am wondering if you could let me know how you got an internship at Saatchi? I am trying to find how you apply and can’t seem to find any information. Would appreciate any advice you could offer 🙂

Comment by elle




Leave a Reply

