Piotr Jakubowski – Mind over Marketing


Reading
July 24, 2007, 9:01 pm
Filed under: advice, books, Connections, magazines, newspapers, reading, tv, video games

Until about 7th or 8th grade, I was quite addicted to books. And then came the video games and other activities. Fastforward to 2006. On my first day of my study abroad session in Tokyo, my iPod broke. I was left with two choices. First, I could’ve gone to Apple and bought a new iPod. Second, figure out other ways to pass time on my 1.5 hour train trips to school (one way). So I decided to start reading again. And let me tell you how that has changed my life.

Reading is important for a variety of reasons. Firstly, you maintain and develop your vocabulary. By reading challenging material, you learn how to use new words and expand the depth of your vocabulary. Secondly, mental stimulation. Reading, in most cases, forces you to think and use your mind. At the same time, it expands your knowledge of a particular subject to a new level. This brings me to my last point. Reading is important because it expands and broadens your horizons. This is important in making connections with other people, as having a broad knowledge of a variety of subjects helps start topics of conversation.

Take a look into any book/blog/site about connecting with others. Regardless of how good looking you are, what your grades in college were, or where you graduated from, connecting with people is a lot more difficult (if impossible), unless you have something to talk about. Reading is a channel through which you can absorb new information, and keep your database of topics you can discuss or relate to up to date.

So remember, reading is an important aspect in making connections. Set aside some time every night or every week to sit back and just read.

How has reading helped you?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I agree with you, completely. Reading helps in many a ways. I never read enough. Infact, during school days, I never paid much attention to reading (besides my text books). It happened to me accidentally, a few months back with my girlfriend recommended me a book while we were hunting for music CDs. It was ‘The Fountainhead’ by Ayn Rand. Since that day, reading caught me.

Some more ways how reading helps:
1. It give you a perspective, another angle to look at things differently.
2. Enhances knowledge. Many more facts along with perspectives.
3. Friend. Really, a loyal friend.

And yes, biggest of all, for someone introvert like me, it helps in connecting. You do get something to discuss or strike a conversation.

Your blog is a good reading too 🙂

Comment by m@nn!e

Reading has helped me understand the life – the daily working lives – of people in many nations and places. My first experience of this was Grapes of Wrath and then the wonderful The Dubliners by James Joyce. I LOVED that book as a young girl. It really moved me. Grapes of Wrath was a little powerful for me at the time and I could not finish it although I read every other book of Steinbeck’s.

Reading informs me re the common concerns of humanity; that there is a connectivity.

Reading educates me and equips me with skills.

Comment by Susan956

[…] the fact that most people will have an opinion about these topics. And it all stems from one thing, Reading. How […]

Pingback by The Knights of Your Round Table « Piotr Jakubowski: Thoughts from the college dorm

[…] Think sharp. The only way to be a sharp thinker is to exercise your brain. Read everything. Newspapers, magazines, books. Nothing says “likeable” (read: mature) […]

Pingback by The Draft « Piotr Jakubowski: Thoughts from the college dorm




Leave a Reply

